The pages listed below contain an overview of general information about each archaeological period.  Click on the name of the period you would like to read about.


Pre-Clovis Sites   

Paleoindian Period


Early Archaic Period   


Middle Archaic Period  


Late Archaic Period     


Early Woodland Period 


Middle Woodland Period   


Late Woodland Period 


Early Mississippian Period   


Middle Mississippian Period   


Late Mississippian Period    


Historic European Contact Period